top of page
Search

It's me!

Hi friends! My name is Weiwei, a new ACA-er! I'm a sophomore from Vancouver, Canada and I've sort of considered myself as an artist since I was a child (and actually almost went to art school), which is how I ended up here!


What's a conversation in contemporary culture that you feel particularly attuned to or interested in?

Oh my god, since performative homosexuality in K-pop was brought up, I was actually a pretty huge k-pop stan a couple of years ago (now I listen more recreationally) and lived and died for these performative homoerotic moments between members. I think any of these queer-baiting moments in contemporary culture is really worthy of discussion, because they really do work (speaking from my personal experience) even if they aren't totally rooted in reality! There's this other thing with "fujoshi" culture in western Asia that I was also a part of (when I was still an angst-filled and sexually repressed preteen), and now I find that phenomenon an extremely interesting case study of essentially a massive movement of fetishism. That reminds me of the ways in which my class discussions keep returning to the concept of performativity in just about anything, and these are the discussions that keep my interest every single time.


What song are you most embarrassed to love?

Anime music... Sometimes I find myself really going back to my cultural roots, having grown up in China (who didn't really have its own entertainment culture and thus had to "borrow" from Japan extensively during the years of 1990-2010). They just hit right sometimes.


What does your cultural diet look like? Since we're mainly producing and consuming culture online these days, what websites do you most frequent? What do you do when you get there?

I've become a REALLY big fan of tiktok during quarantine (after resisting it for a few months) and the queer sub-community that I've entered is just so extremely supportive and fun. Also, it's just nice to (respectfully) perceive hot women doing their thang sometimes!!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page